sex dreams

No, not those kinds.  In my vast myriad of reading on childbirth, one of the things I happened across regarding ultrasounds was the argument that women don’t need to see a picture of their unborn baby in order to feel connected to their babies, that women have been feeling connected to their unborn children for eons before ultrasound technology was invented.  Along the same thread was the idea, presented in the book, that women used to use dreams in order to tell them things about their unborn children.  Such as if they were having twins, if there was some kind of disability the child would have, the sex, and even how it would look.  I was intrigued.

I don’t know if it was in the same book, or a different one, where I read about using your subconscious mind while you’re sleeping in order to unlock answers to problems you are experiencing.  The book even had a technique to try: right before drifting off, keep a question in your mind, and supposedly, your dream might reveal the answer to you.  Ok, I thought, taking these two ideas to heart, I’ll give it a go, since for a long time with this pregnancy I have not had a feeling one way or the other about the sex of the baby.   I asked myself what the sex was right as I was drifting off to sleep one night, and I had a dream.

In the dream, I was getting an ultrasound with a young man technician who looked like a game show host or something.  He was wearing a suit and had a big cheesy smile as he enthusiastically announced, as though to a studio audience, “it’s a girl!”  he gestured to the screen again and repeated even more sure and excited and loud that it was a girl.  Yet, I knew somehow in the dream that he was either wrong or lying and after I woke up, I kept that feeling with me.  I now knew with pretty good certainty that it was a boy.

Now that we have found out the sex and the whole thing has played out, it makes perfect sense to me.  The guy in the dream represented everyone around me, hoping for and being really excited at the prospect of another girl.  Let me explain.  In my family, over the past six years, we have had a baby boom.  My brother had three kids, all boys, my husbands brother had a boy, after ruth, I had joel, of course, I even have a cousin who had a boy.  Ruth is the only girl on both sides.  It’s not that my family doesn’t like boys, we just have an overabundance of them.  When that happens, people can start to clamor for a baby to be announced of the underdog sex.  People really wanted this baby to be a girl.

At the time I had the dream, I was still confused.  I thought the dream technique hadn’t worked.  Why had I dreamt that I had an ultrasound and the person giving it to me told me it was a girl, but I thought that he was lying and I knew it was a boy?  Now, it makes perfect sense.  it did work, better than I thought.

I am having a boy.  Another son.  I can’t wait to meet him.

Author: Terry

Welcome! I am a Waldorf and unschooling-inspired homeschooling parent of three, ages 2, 4, and 7 living in the Lansing area of Michigan writing from the front lines of parenthood. Join me as I try to navigate homeschooling and bask in the craziness of life with young ones. Feel free to leave a comment. I would love to hear from you! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

