a letter

Dear miles,

Hey you in there.  I read that you’re four pounds big by now.  That’s pretty good.  Like a real baby, practically. Don’t worry and don’t rush, though.  Just take your time and chill out.  Because I gotta tell you, I’m super excited to meet you, and I think probably vice versa, but things out here are a little more complicated than what you’re used to.  First of all, there’s air, not water. I know.  Weird, right?  And…it’s bright, almost blindingly so at times, especially until you’re used to it.  And third of all, this is maybe the hardest thing to adjust to, you’re going to feel hungry.  It’s not a pleasant feeling, but food is usually always on the way shortly, so don’t worry too much about that either.  We’ll figure it out.  And you’ll get used to it.  There will be lots of noise out here, and movement, and chaos (that’s your brother and sister.  They are excited to meet you too, but don’t be upset if they don’t always act like it.  They are used to things being a certain way around here and it’s all about to change, so you’ll have to excuse them).  Before you know it, I think, you will feel at home here, though, with them and your dad and I, and we won’t even be able to imagine that you weren’t a part of our lives.  It’s weird to think of all of that now, and a little overwhelming.  So don’t try too hard.  We’ll just let it happen.  Things have a way of unfolding just so.  All we have to do is let them and not think too much.

Like your birth.  You might be nervous, liking the way things are in there, and not sure how it’s all going to go down.  But, let me assure you, that we were made for this.  Your little body is perfectly prepared during your gestation to be born and then to thrive.  And mine, in turn, is being perfectly tuned up to give birth to you.  So, all we have to do is, again, just keep our brains out of the way, and let it happen just the way it should.  I know it’s scary to think of such a sudden and profound change, but, trust me, it will all be alright.  And, as intimidating as it can be going into it, it is one of the coolest and most important moments of your life, and mine.  I will do everything in my power to make sure that it is a beautiful and peaceful start to your life.  And, for myself as well, I want it to be beautiful and powerful, empty of resentment and regrets.  I will try my best to do that too.

In the meantime, just enjoy your time in utero, floating around in there, snug as a bug, perfectly warm and cozy.  And I will do my best to enjoy these last weeks with you in my belly tossing and turning around and making things round and heavy.

I’ll see you soon.

Love mom

Author: Terry

Welcome! I am a Waldorf and unschooling-inspired homeschooling parent of three, ages 2, 4, and 7 living in the Lansing area of Michigan writing from the front lines of parenthood. Join me as I try to navigate homeschooling and bask in the craziness of life with young ones. Feel free to leave a comment. I would love to hear from you! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

