chasing tiny tidbits

my life has become obsessively scanning the floor in each room of the house for tiny tidbits that Miles would see and instantly pincher grasp and deliver expeditiously into his mouth, the black hole of garbage consumption.  that’s life with a new crawler.  and life with a nine-month-old.  and life, especially, with two older kids constantly reeking havoc wherever they go.  it’s one thing to keep a room clear of debris when it’s just other adults with a single baby.  but I simply can’t explain the things the older two destroy, shred, and scatter.  it baffles the mind.  luckily, at least, as fast as he is at placing odd choke-ables into his mouth, he is not so speedy at swallowing said items, and I can usually tell, just by the look on his face, or the way he’s moving his mouth, if he’s got something.  some tasty little morsel of leftover food, or perhaps a microscopic toy piece, dog fur, old band aid, or my favorite, and yes I actually did find this in his mouth one day, one of greg’s toe nail clippings.

the other two were not like this.  granted, they each had serious “issues” of their own that could drive one to distraction in hours flat.  joel was a climber and ruth was an extremely ornery and demanding little thing.  but this human vacuum bit is something new.  for me, at least.  seriously, I should rent him out to people.  he’s like that little rumba robot thing that just bounces off the walls of a room sucking up everything in its path.

still, I am finding it easier and easier to take the token advice offered to every new parent and I am actually able to enjoy each phase and right where he’s at.  I think it’s because of the troubles and noise of the older two, though I love them to pieces too, things are just not as simple as they once were between us, that I’m able to just bask in miles baby-ness.  I was breastfeeding him to sleep the other night and he had on a two-piece pajama set but still has no waistline to speak of so of course the shirt was up somewhere around his ribcage and I was hugging his little round bare tummy and thinking to myself, “this is just a little slice of heaven.”  for all of the trials and tribulations in this life, there are things that are just utter bliss.  and that’s one of ’em.

Author: Terry

Welcome! I am a Waldorf and unschooling-inspired homeschooling parent of three, ages 2, 4, and 7 living in the Lansing area of Michigan writing from the front lines of parenthood. Join me as I try to navigate homeschooling and bask in the craziness of life with young ones. Feel free to leave a comment. I would love to hear from you! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

