angry waldorf

“dump a bucket of cold water on my head or slap me in the face.  I was just about to dump three hundred dollars on two waldorf style dolls for ruth and joel.”  (the internet and credit cards are a very dangerous combination).  this would be me trying to personify the waldorf ideal in my home.  phase one: get rid of all shitty plastic toys that have some how accumulated and bedded down into every corner and crevice of my home.  phase two: integrate in more aesthetically pleasing, natural-fibered open-ended waldorf type play things which are made of wood and wool, which SOUNDS like it would be inexpensive (raw materials, right?) yet is surprisingly IN-inexpensive (or expensive for all those who don’t go in for double negatives).   phase three: become a snow white-like figure full of love and good will towards the spirits of the natural world, namely gnomes, dwarfs, fairies, and all anthropomorphized forest animals that come ’round.  only one problem.  I ain’t no stinkin’ snow white.

I guess you could classify my parenting/homeschooling style as “angry waldorf”.  that means my walls are empty of pictures and I have loads of found nature stuff on a shelf, I bake breads with the kids and I don’t have a tv.  but I’m angry.

so, maybe I don’t meet the Rudolf Steiner stamp of approval.  I don’t wear organic cotton earth tones.  sometimes I eat potato chips for lunch.  and I’m angry.

you’ll just have to excuse me.  if I wanted to be hip and trendy, I could call myself “gritty”.  I could say I’ve got edge.  but really, I’m just angry.

so don’t be too fussed if you hear me growl under my breath.  or that door slamming.  i’ll get over it, don’t worry.  grimm’s fairy tales may have death and evil witches and all sorts of betrayal, but there’s no swear words.  except in my versions.

Author: Terry

Welcome! I am a Waldorf and unschooling-inspired homeschooling parent of three, ages 2, 4, and 7 living in the Lansing area of Michigan writing from the front lines of parenthood. Join me as I try to navigate homeschooling and bask in the craziness of life with young ones. Feel free to leave a comment. I would love to hear from you! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

