life in the slow lane

This morning, I heard a baby crying.  I had just snuck out of bed to get a jump on the day and was poised with coffee cup in hand, just basking in the quiet emptiness of my semi-speed cleaned living room when I looked up at the clock.  Seven thirty on a Sunday morning, I thought shaking my head.  Typical of little kids, I thought, and: your neighbors hate your guts.  I did feel satisfied though, that for once it wasn’t me and my family disrupting the peace around here and I silently wished to myself that there were more little kids and families around so that we didn’t stick out so much like sore thumbs.  That’s when I realized that the crying that I thought was coming from outside was actually coming from my back bedroom.  It was Miles.  Shit.

Well, that’s just a typical start to a day around here.  No biggie.  He’s just here across my lap, breastfeeding/dozing as I type this.  What do I expect?  This is life in the slow lane.

We have some exciting (terrifying?) news!  I haven’t typed much on the subject of houses.  Number one because I haven’t typed much here at all (see simple life tasks made impossible above) but number two because it sort of happened really fast and has been a whirlwind of emotions and decisions.  Emotional decisions.  Decisional emotions.  We have had an offer accepted on a house!

Originally, someone that had just left this area and knew Greg through work wanted to sell us his house and after seeing it, for a few weeks we were sort of caught up in considerations about it, thinking it might be the house we would end up in.   Finally, I said to Greg that I thought I needed to see some different areas in order to really get a better understanding of other options.  We started working with a realtor and within two days (and after looking at only one house) we had an offer accepted!  Believe me, it’s been a dizzying process.

Our apartment has been really comfortable and has also been a really good experience for us, but we are so grateful and excited about being able to finally settle in somewhere that we can call home.  The house is a small, retro, brick ranch that in many ways reminds us of our old house.  It has been so nice to shift from talking about which area we might settle in and what type of house we might live in to our plans for making this particular house and neighborhood ours.

 

 

Author: Terry

Welcome! I am a Waldorf and unschooling-inspired homeschooling parent of three, ages 2, 4, and 7 living in the Lansing area of Michigan writing from the front lines of parenthood. Join me as I try to navigate homeschooling and bask in the craziness of life with young ones. Feel free to leave a comment. I would love to hear from you! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

